Last night I heard…

on Wlrn,  a local Public Radio station broadcasting out of Miami, that there will be a South Florida Flash Fiction contest that is sponsored by Wlrn and the Miami Herald. This is held during the Miami International Book Fair each November. The rules are very simple. The submission must be less than 305 words. The submission can be fiction, non-fiction, poetic prose or any form of poetry. The grand prize winnner will get to sit down with Christine Dimattei who is the afternoon anchor of Wlrn-Miami Herald news. It was mentioned that she will bring a grab bag of goodies during the dinner so that sounds pretty neat. I did not see where there is a limitation on the number of entries so I will be submitting often. The deadline for the contest is November 13th 2011. The guidelines and entry form is here.

So I hope to have some fun with that contest and for those who may want to enter I hope that they will have fun too! Now on to other things. I will be attending my by monthly critque group this November 6th at the Wellington library. Our leadr Caryn was away this past week or so at the Florida Writers conference and she promised to give us the latest details on what happened there. That should be very good indeed. I plan on getting there early so I can read some of the stuff that I have written during the past few weeks. Well this weekend has been pretty productive insofar as my writing is concerned and I am very happy about that. These next 4 days I will be posting here either after work or before work. The idea being that at least I will be achieving the goal of writing 250 words a day. After a 10 hour day that is probably all I can do with the exception of maybe creating a character bio or two.  I will be using the posts to actually set my writing goals for my sci fi novel and writing contests. Well that is it for now. Until next time William out.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Short Story, Writing

2 responses to “Last night I heard…

  1. stephan Nesvacil

    I found your post under the flash fiction tweet at Herald and was wondering what the critique session was all about? Can anyone attend? How does it work?

    Thanks, Stephan

Leave a Reply

