Opening hooks in your novel…

I have been through several classes and when it comes to this topice all of my teachers agree that opening hook in any novel is the most important part of that novel. It hooks to the reader, imploring the reader to go on to the finish of said novel. Without that hook the reader will not feel the connection to that book, it’s characters, the plot itself. There by the odds of the reader putting down the book or novel permanently are quite high.

As I am starting out on my first novel I know how important this is. I have been looking at various different opening hooks not only just to get a feel for them but to post them as a quote on my other blog Cool Quotes, Famous Quotes. Here is one of the most famous opening hooks written by Charles Dickens. The novel is “A Tale of Two Cities”.

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going directly to Heaven, we were all going the other way.”

— Charles Dickens.  “A Tale of Two Cities”

If this opening does not inspire people to read on then I am not sure what will. I am still working on creating characters for my novel. It is a task that is taking some time. It does take time to get to know a character throughly. I do believe in getting this done right. For I must know my characters intimately before I write one word concerning them in my novel.  My goal is (like I have said before) is to get the cast of characters done first and then hash out the storyline. Well I have to go for now so until next time William out.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under My own writing..., Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Writing

2 responses to “Opening hooks in your novel…

  1. Hi 🙂 I’ve just blogged about ways you can create the perfect opening hook here: http://rebeccaberto.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/art-of-writing-2-nail-your-novels-first-sentence/

    It’s soo important to make sure the reader knows something big is ‘on the line’ so there is a reason for them to care.

    Good job creating this post to bring it to people’s attention! 🙂

Leave a Reply

