I have been reading…

“Writing the Breakout Novel” by Donald Maas.  I am on the 2nd chapter and I have to say that the book is quite good. It gives you the tools to write out that breakout novel. Tomorrow I will be getting the companion workbook from the same autho so I can start to organize my writing. The book is filled with a lot of good tips. So like I said, I am going to do a fair amount of reading and organizing to get my novel started.

I am still working on the character cast, in fact I have been designing a new character bio template that will not only accomodate humans but alien characters as well. I have noticed in other character bios that there is no section for alien characters. Since I will be writing Sci-fi I think that is important to do.

I had a critque group session this past Thursday and I read the first possible intro page to my novel.  I got a pretty good critque for my efforts. Some of the criticism involved my need to make more character description (describing how the character looked). Other critisms were setting the tone. They told me that I did a great job at setting the hook within the first page. Overal I felt very good about the session. A lot of people got to read their work.

Now I must go on finishing the cast of characters and then go on to do the brainstorming. That is what I have been doing and will continue to do. Well it is getting a little late right now so I am going to go. Until next time William out.

Leave a comment

Filed under My own writing..., Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Writing

Leave a Reply

