Congrats to the New York Giants…

on winning the Super Bowl. That was a hell of a game. Well it is tough to try write something while a nail biter of a Super Bowl is going on. Now that the game is over it is on to my writing. Let’s see what do we have here? Well after I am done posting here I will do a page or two on the Sci fi novel. I want to write some poetry as well.

Then we will see what else that I can do. I am going to change the frame work of these posts. Just like at my other blogCool Quotes, Famous Quotes I am going to add a quote from a writer and I depending on the the date I will enter a writers birthdate and mabye a little background on that author.

Like the title to this blog says, this is my journey as a writer and the changes in this blog will reflect that. I just want to experiment, to add things and take out other things in this blog. Creative experimentation is very fun! But first I must tell you guys that I am still working on the time travel story and I have been writing children’s stories as well. Talk about a difference in genres eh? You bet there is a differences! Here again though writing these two genres are fun to do. There is still no writing prompt from Three Minute Fiction as of yet, but rest assured I will be ready when there is one.

I am still researching the Yahoo Contributor Network. I should be done with that this weekend and hopefully start to claim some articles so I can write them myself. That should prove to be very interesting. What I mean by that is this will be the first time that I would be working with editors on doing revisions or adding their suggestions to my writing. I think that would be a great experience for me. Lets hope that it works out, and that I would get my first paid writing gig done.

Here is a quote from from Oscar Wilde on poetry.

“He lives the poetry that he cannot write. The others write the poetry that they dare not realise.”

Oscar Wilde.

Today it is the Birthday of William S. Burroughs who was born on Feb, 5th 1914 in Saint Louis Missouri. He is also known by the pen name William Lee. He was an American novelist, poet, essayist and spoken work performer.  From what I gather he did not like the area in which he lived, which was a wealthy neighborhood of Saint Louis.

He also did not like Harvard as well. Later he studied medical school in Vienna.  After being turned down by the Office of Strategic Services and the U. S navy in 1942 to serve in WW II, he dropped out and became afllicted with drug addiction that would affect him for the rest of his life.

He moved to New York City where he met the Beat writers Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg. This was before Kerouac and Ginsberg became famous as beat writers. In any case the three of them constantly experimented with drugs in which Burroughs became addicted to morphine.

Well it is getting late now and I have to go on and do other writing chores. Please feel free to not only like this post but to comment on it as well. So until next time…William out.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Poetry, Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Writing

Leave a Reply

