I am a real writer now!

The reason why I say that is I just got my first rejection notice! So I am in good company now. I have crossed that threshold from being a writer with no rejection notices to one that has rejection notices. It came from the good folks at Necon E-books.

Now do not get riled up, I am certainly not riled up, as these people treat you like as if you are a family member, and besides rejection is not only a part of a writer’s life, in many cases it can be a good thing. So I plan on racking up as many rejection notices as I can and then put them on my wall of rejection! He he!

They have a new contest for the month of February. The theme is “Horror Haikus”. So this time the challenge comes more in the form itself rather than the content. So most of today I have been working on a few haiku’s that I will be submitting to Necon. So far it has been fun and that is the most important thing.

One of my other goals this weekend is to check out the Yahoo Contributor Network. I will be writing articles there and I need to know their submission guidelines in order to have any chance at getting paid. I have done most of that work and I want to be finished soon.

No round 8 of Three Minute Fiction as of yet. But I will be ready for that contest as soon as it starts up. Speaking of other contests I will enter another drabble over at the Drabblecast forums. Not sure what form it will take but I know I will be having fun doing that. I also did a little work on the sci fi novel. One page at a time as they say!

Here is a quote from Edgar Rice Burroughs.

‘If you write one story, it may be bad; if you write a hundred, you have the odds in your favor.’
Edgar Rice Burroughs

Today is the birthday of Alice Walker. She was born in Eatonton, Georgia (1944) She was born to very poor sharecroppers. She was the youngest of 8 children. Alice graduated highest in her high school. In 1961 she won a scholarship to Spelman College. After two years there she transfeered to Sarah Lawrence where she wrote a short story that was sent to a Mr. Langston Hughes, who became an early supporter of hers.

It was 1968 when she published her first poetry collection called Once, and then in 1970 she published her first novel entitled The Third Life of Grange Copeland. That novel described a family of poor sharecroppers. The setting in the 1920’s. It was not until her third novel entitled The Color Purple which won both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award that her work gained a larger audience. Of course The Color Purple became a very successful movie directed by Steven Spielberg and starred Danny Glover, Whoopie Goldberg, and Oprah Winfrey.

Here is an Alice Walker quote about writing.

“Writing saved me from the sin and inconveniemce of violence.”
Alice Walker.

I suspect that writing has saved a lot of people from on time to another.
Well that is about it for me. So until next time…William out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Poetry, Short Story, Writing

Leave a Reply

