Three Minute Fiction is about to launch…

Good news Three Minute Fiction is about to launch! I am soooo looking forward to competing again! In a post on the Three Minute Fiction Facebook page they named Luís Alberto Urrea to be the judge for round eight. It was also nice to see Kenya back and posting.

Urrea is an Mexican American poet, novelist and essayist.  He is the son of a Mexican father and an American mother. He attended the University of California, San Diego, earning an undergraduate degree in writing, and did his graduate studies at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

He currently lives in Naperville Illinois with his family. He is a Professor of Creative Writing at of The University of Illinois at Chicago. A partial list of his awards are The Colorado Book Award in poetry for The Fever of Being, and the American Book Award for his memoir, Nobody’s Son, Notes From An American Life. Like I said this is only a partial list. You can get more on his bio over at Wikipedia, Luis Alberto Urrea.

Here is a quote from Urrea. It comes from the epic novel The Hummingbird’s Daughter.

“…There was nothing one could do when love came. It was fast, and it was strong, and if it were not good, then surely God would not have allowed it such power.”   — Luis Alberto Urrea.

I was not able to make my critique group meeting due to some personal reasons, the biggest being my cellphone went out on me. I do not like to make long trips in my car without communication. It would be just my luck something happens and I have no way to let anyone know about it. So I will meet with my co-horts at the next meeting in Wellington, Florida. I am sure I missed out on a good meeting. They are always quite good and informative.

I am still working on various different projects ranging from my sci-fi novel to working on stories that I will be posting to various different writing contests. One contest that will be coming up shortly is the Cheerios Spoonful of Stories contest. That will happen during a March timeframe. I will be writing short stories and submitting them to various different magazines and or e-zines that I have an interest in.

All in all, I am going to be pretty busy the next few weeks and I will be posting about there in my blog! Speaking about being busy I had better get busy on those afforementioned projects! So until the next time…William out.

P.S. Sorry about some of the “tags” being misspelled. Though I do check thoroughly regarding spelling, I do wish that wordpress would have a spellchecker for doing the tags. He he! Oh well…See you people later!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, My own writing..., Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Short Story, Writing

2 responses to “Three Minute Fiction is about to launch…

  1. Wow, lots of stuff to do. The Cheerio’s contest sounds cute 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

