While posting to my other…

blog Cool Quotes, Famous Quotes I ran across this writing quote in the sidebar of my cool quotes dashboard. It goes something like this. The author of the quote is Henry David Thoreau.

Write while the heat is in you. The writer who postpones the recording of his thoughts uses an iron which has cooled to burn a hole with. He cannot inflame the minds of his audience.

Henry David Thoureau — American Author, poet, philosopher, abolitionist, naturalist, tax resistor, development critic, surveyor, historian, and leading transcendentalist. (1817-1852)

Thoreau’s books, articles, essays, journals, and poetry total over 20 volumes. Among his lasting contributions were his writings on natural history and philosophy.

I do believe that the postponing of your thoughts is detrimental to a writer. You should strike while the iron is hot. Strike while the idea is fresh in your mind and do not wait because chances are you will forget that idea that will make a difference for you. I do wonder how many inspirational ideas were lost because those writers simply did not jot them down? Who knows?

This weekend I will be reading from the archives of Three Minute Fiction in preparation for the upcoming contest on March 10th. It was fun competing in Round 7 and I would like to repeat that fun in Round 8.  Same thing goes for the Cheerios Spoonful of Stories children’s contest that should be coming up later on this spring. I will be reading from their archive as well to get an idea what the judges want there.

I am still conjuring up story ideas to be submitted to various different writing contests and magazines. In fact I submitted some haiku to Necone E-books this week and got a rejection notice from the Drabble cast people for wrongfully submitted a horror haiku to them. He he oh well that is a mistake I will not make again! I sent them a note of apology. Things do happen there folks! Well it is time for me to go now. So until next time…William out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Children's Story Writing, Writing

Leave a Reply

