Three Minute Fiction started today….

Yes round 8 started today. If any of you guys are interested here is the link. The story cannot be longer than 600 words. The story has to start with this sentence. “She  closed the book, placed it on the table, and finally, decided to walk through the door.” That is the writing prompt for round 8 folks! So I will start to put my story together soon. Right now I am having a little tussle with the writers block but I shall overcome that!

I got a nice email from the folks over at Necone E-Books today, regarding my horror haiku submissions to them this month. And though I did not win I got a very nice compliment and lots of encouragement from Matt the proprietor of Necone E-books. So I will keep on submitting to them as well. They have a March contest ane the writing prompt is that writers who enter the contest that are also writing a novel submit a 500 word pitch. Yep that is the writing prompt for the this month! Here again I am at a loss for words, but fear not, I shall overcome again. Writing is such a fun challenge for the mind is it not?

I bought a few books from the local Barnes and Noble not only just for my personal pleasure but to study writing styles as well. I got “Timeline” by Michael Crichton, “Ladybug Girl” by David Somar and Jacky Davis, and “Goodnight Moon” by Margaret Wise Brown. The last two books are childrens books of which the age range is 3 to 8 years old. The reason why I got those books is I am preparing for the Cheerios Spoonful of Stories contest that will start a little later this spring. I always think it is a good idea to be prepared for upcoming contests.

I have been tinkering around with my sci-fi novel tentatively titled “A Change in Time”. That has been fun as well. I so far have written the first 3 pages. Basically “the hook” if you will. I feel so far it is a good hook. At least I have something down to show for at the next critique group meeting. Between now and then I will keep on adding and tweaking the story. Well I have to go now so until next time…William out!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Children's Story Writing, Horror Stories, My own writing..., Poetry, Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Writing

2 responses to “Three Minute Fiction started today….

  1. Good luck with your contests. And your novel…

    I enjoyed Timeline very much. I thought it was pretty clever. Neat time travel.

Leave a Reply

