Thursday evening thoughts…

I thought I would start this post with this inspirational quote by Joyce Myers.

A #2 pencil and a dream can take you anywhere.

Joyce Myers Christian American Author (1943-)

Now that to me is the ultimate inspiration for any writer. Just being able to go anywhere in the universe while sitting at my computer is the biggest trip I can go on. And it is free to boot! Can’t get much better than that.

Still slaving away at the sci-fi story. You know the routine. You put something down. Then you change it. You put some other things down. Then they get changed. Well I am at the point where I am doing a lot of changes. It is all in an effort to get a better story out.  I have been reading Fifty Shades of Grey and though it is a different genre, I have been learning how to do internal dialogue, creating more dynamic characters, setting up scenes better, all in all I am learning how to be a better writer.

I shouldn’t say slaving as it may imply that I am not enjoying the ride. I most certainly am enjoying the ride. Sometimes it is like a roller coaster ride, you have the highs and the lows and hell sometimes you go sideways while upside down. (I will never ride a coaster again!) You guys know how it is though. We all get through it and smell like roses at the end. Speaking of which I am now going to do some more writing! (You see I like smelling like a rose!) So until next time…William out!

P.S You may want to check out The Perfect Write by Robert L. Bacon. It is a wonderful newsletter about the writing industry in general. I think you will find it to be an important tool in your wirint career. I had a chance to meet Mr. Bacon at one of my critique group meetings. He is very good.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, My own writing..., Writing

2 responses to “Thursday evening thoughts…

  1. Lovely, Influential Quote! Back when I did not have a personal computer, #2 pencils and composition notebooks was the armor I went to war with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

