A good Thursday evening to…

all my writer friends out there! It is getting close to Election Day so please go out and vote! Too many people have paid the ultimate sacrifice so that we may have the priviledge to go into the voting booth. So go to your nearest precinct and vote. When you do that then your voice and your opinion does matter.

Now let’s go on to another topic. I would like to discuss the role that setting plays in a story. To me it plays a critical role in assisting the plot. It sets the mood, location, time line amongst other things. I do believe that it sets the environment for the characters to work in. The passage of time as an element to the setting also helps to move the plot line along.

The setting could be anywhere, ranging from earth to the rest of the universe and it could be anytime. I have a lot of fun imagining strange exotic places in future or past realms. It is almost like I get trasnported from my little study here is South Florida, to the farthest reaches of the galaxy. I can go back to Jurassic times or leap forward into a future of my own imagining.

It’s like a roller coaster ride. though with out the usual feeling/visual danger. He he I do like the danger part though, but that is for another posting. In any case my main point is the setting is critical to the plot line and needs to be introduced accordling.

As you guys know I have been working hard on my sci fi story “A Change in Time”. I have been doing some major re-edits and re-writes on the story do to the fact that when I started to read what I had written, I found that it needed tightening up pretty badly. So that is an ongoing process right now.

That is fun to do but it is work and sometimes it can get tiring. So I do my work in spurts so to speak. I like to come back as fresh as I can so the work itself will be fresh. And speaking of which I am going back to my work now. But I leave you this quote…

“If there is a book you really want to read but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it. –Toni Morrison

Until next time William…out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, My own writing..., Sci-Fi Genre Writing, Writing

Leave a Reply

