Good Friday Evening…

To all my fellow writers, a most wonderful and blessed evening to you! Yesterday’s critique group meeting at the Wellington library was quite a success, with several writers, myself included, got a chance to read their stuff. I have said this in the past that our group is very talented and I am very thankful to be a part of such a group. Caryn our group leader and local director of the Florida Writer’s Association did a wonderful job.

As I said I got a chance to read a page from my Sci-fi story “A Change in Time” and it was generally well received. It was pointed out that I had a couple of POV issues regarding the page that I read. I corrected those issues today. This is the topic that I would like to touch on.

The gist of what I learned yesterday is I should stay (for the most part) with one point of view per chapter. Basically pick a character and use that characters POV for the chapter. If I do have to change POV in the same chapter then make it clear to the reader that there is a POV change, so as not to the confuse the reader. Obviously it is important that writer doesn’t confuse the reader if said writer wants to be successful. It does get easy to forget what POV I am in so it is always good to get that reality check by reading in front of a group of people.

I’m still checking to see when the Cheerios Spoonful of Stories is going to start. Once it does I will post here to let you guys know about it. I am also waiting to see the results of my submissions to Necon E-Books to see how well I’m doing there. I submitted so horror haiku’s there as that was the theme for the month. I will also check the WritersMarket.com for up coming events there as well. Here is some more horror haiku’s for you!

He sharpened the blade.
She got ready for the feast.
He served her instead.

Until next time…William out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, My own writing..., Poetry, Writing

Leave a Reply

